Introducing Ultra Open Earbuds. Their cuff-like fit leaves your ears totally open so you can still hear the world around you, while OpenAudio technology provides you with rich, private sound. Listen to your music and life — at the same time, all the time.
Open-ear design
Immersive Audio
Surprisingly private
All-day comfort
Auto volume
Up to 7.5 hours of play time¹
Simple, satisfying button controls.
IPX4 rating for water resistance
New Product

Bose Ultra Open Earbuds

4.1 out of 5 Customer Rating
$379.00
color Black
90-day risk-free trial

to

Introducing Ultra Open Earbuds. Their cuff-like fit leaves your ears totally open so you can still hear the world around you, while OpenAudio technology provides you with rich, private sound. Listen to your music and life — at the same time, all the time.
Open-ear design
Immersive Audio
Surprisingly private
All-day comfort
Auto volume
Up to 7.5 hours of play time¹
Simple, satisfying button controls.
IPX4 rating for water resistance
product-image
Bose Ultra Open Earbuds
color Black
$379.00

Pause for nothing. Hear everything.


A brilliant combination of innovative open-ear design, incredible audio, and all-day comfort. You’ll never stop your music to hear the world again.

Simply astonishing sound


To the music lovers with a playlist for every mood and moment, meet your new obsession. Because you should never compromise on sound quality.

Immersive Audio

Bose Immersive Audio spatializes audio, creating the impression that the music you hear is being played in the room around you instead of through the earbuds you’re wearing.

Person wearing Bose Ultra Open Earbuds
Bose Ultra Open Earbuds

Surprisingly private

The earbuds’ open-ear design says, “I can still hear you” while OpenAudio technology provides you with high-quality, private sounds.

Be in the music anywhere — everywhere.


Go all day. Do whatever your thing is. Ultra Open Earbuds bring you closer to your music. And keep you looking good.

Unmatched comfort, unbeatable stability.

Flexible joint. Light-as-air grip. Because they wrap around your ears instead of fitting inside them, they’re incredibly comfortable and super stable. Get your run on, run your errands — they’ll hug your ears all day.

Person wearing Bose Ultra Open Earbuds

“They stay in/on my ears, and they're so comfortable that I honestly forget I'm wearing them”

- JEM

“This type of audio listening experience is honestly one of my favourites, especially when you are living an active on the go lifestyle.”

- Soundman

Woman wearing Bose Ultra Open Earbuds

Press, play, enjoy.

Simple, satisfying button controls make it easy to switch between stereo and immersive modes. Doesn’t matter if you’re getting ready or getting groceries — Auto Volume works like magic to keep your music audible even as the volume of your surroundings change.²

Features

Bose Ultra Open Earbuds in their charging case
  • Immersive Audio
    Spatialized sound puts you in the music.
  • OpenAudio technology
    Rich, high-quality, private sound.
  • SimpleSync
    Pair seamlessly with Bose smart soundbars and speakers.
  • Go ahead, listen longer.
    Up to 7.5 hours of play time (up to 4.5 hours with Immersive Audio)¹ or up to 48 hours of standby,³ and up to an extra 19.5 hours of battery life in the charging case.⁴
  • Bose Music app
    Take personalization even further with Adjustable EQ settings in the Bose Music app. Control bass, mid-range, and treble levels as you go.

Product details

box content
What’s in the Box
  • 2 Bose Ultra Open Earbuds
  • Charging case
  • USB-C® (A to C) cable (12")
  • Safety sheet
Headphone Fit Open Ear
Microphones Built-in Microphone
Noise Cancelling No
Water Resistant IPX4
Case Charging, Protection
Bud Single 1.85 cm H x 1.7 cm W x 2.72 cm D (0.01 kg)
Case 4.19 cm H x 6.5 cm W x 2.64 cm D (0.04 kg)
Product Material Plastic (PC-ABS), Metal, Silicone, Gold Plating
Product Case Material Plastic (Hard)
Rechargeable Yes
Battery Life 7.5 hours
Battery Charge Time 1 hour
Charging Accessory included Yes
Charging Interface(s) USB C PORT
Wireless Connectivity A2DP Bluetooth Audio Streaming, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, HFP Bluetooth, Wireless Connectivity, AAC Bluetooth, SBC Bluetooth
Bluetooth Version 5.3
Bluetooth Range 30 feet
Bose App Bose Music App

The Bose Ultra Open Earbuds are a totally new kind of audio wearable device: premium sound built into a cuff-shaped earbud that doesn’t cover your ear. Proprietary Bose OpenAudio technology allows the earbuds to play rich, immersive audio privately even though the speakers on the earbuds sit a short distance from your ear canal, leaving you open to the sounds of your surroundings. The cuffs hook around the outside of your ear so gently that you might forget they’re even there, so you can leave them on all day, always ready for music, calls, or videos.

The Open Earbuds were designed from the ground up to give you a soundtrack for your life: to let you enjoy your music without blocking your ears, in a shape so comfortable you can almost forget you’re wearing any earbuds at all. The engineering of these earbuds was a matter of squeezing Bose OpenAudio technology — which projects deep, rich sound across a short distance of open space to your ear canal — into a shape that could grip your ear extremely gently, leave your ear open to outside sounds, and contain a long-lasting battery. This design process resulted in the Open Earbuds’ unique shape, inspired by ear cuff jewelry. The light-as-air flex arm connects the audio portion of the earbud to a battery barrel that goes behind your ear, providing just enough grip to keep the earbuds secure on any size ear.

Yes. The Open Earbuds are excellent for exercise, thanks to their confident stability on your ear, powerful sound, and open design. Bose’s unique OpenAudio technology allows air to keep your ears cool and dry while you enjoy both your music and sounds from your environment, such as city sounds, nature, input from a coach or workout partner, or sounds that help you play a sport such as tennis or basketball.

Yes. The combination of skin-safe materials, a fully open design, long battery life, and unparalleled comfort means you can leave the earbuds on all day, always connected to your device and ready to produce rich audio the moment you need it.

In stereo mode, the earbud batteries will provide up to 7.5 hours of play time or 48 hours of standby time (no audio playing). For all-day wear that involves a mix of audio listening and standby, the battery life will vary depending on the proportion of each. For example, 5 hours of audio would leave 10 hours of standby life remaining. And if the battery does run out, a quick 10-minute charge in the case will add up to 2 hours of play time.

Yes. You can slide the earbud slightly up or down the outside of your ear to adjust for comfort, preferred sound balance, looks, or to avoid interference with jewelry. 

Yes. The Open Earbuds are uniquely designed to attach to a part of the ear that does not interfere with most glasses, hats, and piercings. If your accessories touch the product, that’s no problem as long as the earbuds remain comfortable and secure. The magnets that help the earbuds attach to their charging case may occasionally stick slightly to jewellery made of ferromagnetic metals like nickel; this is not damaging to the earbuds or the jewellery, but if bothersome can be avoided by slightly sliding the earbud up or down the ear, away from the jewellery.

OpenAudio is a proprietary Bose technology that allows audio played a short distance from your ear canal to be rich, deep, and private — without sealing your ear. Each earbud uses a tiny dipole transducer system engineered for loud-and-clear personal audio that stays at the ear — instead of going everywhere else.

It’s easy to hear the difference Bose OpenAudio makes by comparing the power of the Bose Ultra Open Earbuds with a traditional set of earbuds held slightly outside your ear. If you remove the traditional earbud from your ear canal and hold it near your ear at the same distance that the Open Earbuds sit, you’ll notice the much greater volume and richer bass from the Open Earbuds.

Bose OpenAudio directs rich, deep audio into the ear canal while using proprietary technology to minimize sound spillage in other directions. In most environments and at most listening levels, people around you won’t hear a thing. If you turn up the volume all the way in a very quiet environment, others may hear that something is playing from your earbuds, but they won’t be able to hear any detail unless they get very close.

No. By design, the Open Earbuds don’t block out the world or have noise cancelling, so you can enjoy your music while staying open to the sounds of the world around you. They do have an automatic volume control feature, available in the Bose Music app, that helps you hear your music evenly as your environment changes from quiet to loud and back. 

Bluetooth multipoint, a feature that will allow the Open Earbuds to connect to two source devices at the same time, will be available through a software update coming later this year. Be sure to set up your earbuds with the Bose Music app to receive software updates.

The Bose Music app also allows you to customize the shortcut function on each 
earbud’s button, and one of the available options is Switch Source. Setting a 
shortcut to Switch Source will enable you to switch between previously connected 
Bluetooth source devices with a press and hold of the earbud button without 
needing to take the earbuds off. 

Download your product’s app now

Available on Google Play and the Apple Store

Owner's guide

Why buy from Bose.com

Bose Ultra Open Earbuds

Bose Ultra Open Earbuds

Dive into multi-sensory experiences with audio and visual demos, stories, and more.

¹ Testing conducted by Bose in October 2023 using production-representative Bose Ultra Open Earbuds playing IEC 60268-1 pink noise using A2DP Bluetooth audio streaming at an RSSI of 75 dBm. Volume was set to a playback loudness of 75 dBA and 3-band EQ was set to zero. With Immersive Audio off, playback time was up to 7.5 hours before battery depletion. With Immersive Audio on, playback time was up to 4.5 hours before battery depletion. Battery life varies based on settings and usage.

² Available through the Bose Music app.

³ Testing conducted by Bose in October 2023 by removing fully charged production-representative Bose Ultra Open Earbuds from a Bose Ultra Open Earbuds charging case, connecting to a phone with no content playing, and maintaining connection until earbud battery depletion.

⁴ Testing conducted by Bose in October 2023 by inserting production-representative Bose Ultra Open Earbuds with battery depleted (to the point of no audio playback) into a fully charged Bose Ultra Open Earbuds charging case and charging earbuds to 100% (or until the case battery was depleted). Then, the earbuds played IEC 60268-1 pink noise using A2DP Bluetooth audio streaming at an RSSI of 75 dBm until battery depletion. Volume was set to a playback loudness of 75 dBA and 3-band EQ was set to zero. Testing repeated until the case battery was depleted. Additional earbud playback time added through case charging was 19.5 hours with Immersive Audio off and 12 hours with Immersive Audio on.

Ratings and Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful buds! I bought these about two weeks ago, and so far, I’m enjoying wearing them while I work, exercise, and relax. They are comfortable around the ears, like they are not even there. However, I do get a little irritated with the lapses in sound some times or skip through my podcasts without reason. I wish the shortcuts were easier to remember, but that’s my fault.
Date published: 2024-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing earbuds for all ears! These earbuds are phenomenal for what they're intended to do. Setup out the box is quite simple with the Bose app and pairing. Getting the hang of putting the earbuds in your ears is also very easy after a couple tries. The sound is superb for what their intended usage is. These are open earbuds so there's no noise canceling, it's meant to have you listen to your music in good quality while being aware of your surroundings. This results in also a comfortable fit where you don't need an earbud tip shoved into your ear. The charging case holds enough charge where I don't need to worry about it when I leave my house. I recently went on a trip to another state and had the battery last me the whole trip granted I had moderate usage. The app Bose has developed for their wearables is also very easy and simple. I can tune the earbuds, update them, and turn features on and off on the fly. It reminds me of most wearable apps that make everything easy for you to use. Customizing sound is the best part about the app because you can fine tune it to your liking with many presets available to you as well. I definitely recommend this product to anyone if it's within their budget!
Date published: 2024-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can go wrong The ear phones are amazing you can barely feel them on and the sound is amazing for what they are love them but the price is crazy for letting the noise in
Date published: 2024-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful sound, great fit It’s a great upgrade from my first buds. Great product
Date published: 2024-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these These are great. Fit securely and can listen to music while still hearing ambient sounds.
Date published: 2024-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Can Hear Everything These earbuds are my third pair of earbuds from Bose. They are my favorite because they are the most comfortable. It would've been hard to make these noise cancelling, so I am happy to have the open earbuds, which allows me to listen to my phone and my 2 year old when he's calling me verbally. The others are comfortable, but they slide out. I have naturally waxy ears and these hold on very well, where my other ones slide out after a while. The sound is amazing also. I like them, but they might not be for everyone. The charging case is fine. It allows me to not having to plug up my earbuds every day. The battery life is great. I don’t have to plug it up everyday. I plug it up once a week. I’m already familiar with the app since these are my third pair. The customizations are great. You can still block out the works with these. The only dislike I have is that to update them you have to remove the earbuds and once the update is downloaded. You put them back in, which makes them possible to lose or damage.
Date published: 2024-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I love my ear buds - never had any that were so comfortable
Date published: 2024-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Open earbuds First pair of any type of open ear bud, these are very good. Sound is good, fit is very comfortable and can be worn extended period of time
Date published: 2024-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted. I have a number of Bose products and am happy with them. I wanted these for exercise and just walking around town with the dog. They are excellent. They re so light and easy to control. They don’t fall off and I really hardly know they are even on my ears. These are just what I was looking for.
Date published: 2024-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT Excellent product.........need better paper instructions for a 70 year old......
Date published: 2024-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now I am using wireless. I have about a month. This fit feels great for me.
Date published: 2024-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Had these earbuds for a few weeks. Was a little skeptical because how they fit. But I love them. I didn’t like the idea of having something pushed inside my ears but these feel good. And the sound is awesome…as always with Bose.
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What do you mean Review Title? Good product.I’m impressed with the sound quality.I’m not impressed with your review page.
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Bose Ultra Open Earbuds I love them! Several months ago I purchased the QuietComfort Earbuds, they were the most comfortable to date but, when out and about I could only wear one earbud at a time due to the effective noise cancelling. I did not want to buy a second pair so soon, but with the 90 day trial I gave it a try. I can now take my morning walk and listen to a book or podcast and still hear the birds sing. Bonus, I love it that they sit outside the ear canal, so much more comfortable. I don't usually write reviews but am so happy with the Bose Ultra Open Earbuds, that I wanted to share the good news,
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great Bose product. I purchased these because I don’t like traditional ear buds that are lodged in the ear canal. Typical Bose sound with rich base and clarity of sound. Perfect for physical activity, the stay securely in place. I am able to interact with the world around me and hold conversations in the open air mode. Full immersion a simple touch of the ear bud transitions to full immersion for a complete Bose sound experience. Easy placement and removal. Very comfortable, when I am not playing music I have forgotten that I even had them on.
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultra Open Earbuds I love the ultra open earbuds! I don’t like earbuds that plug into the ear canal, very uncomfortable. The Bose open earbuds don’t plug into the ear canal. So, they are much more comfortable, and I can listen to music for as long as I want without any discomfort. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous earbuds LOVE THEM!!! So comfortable i can wear them all day. Great sound. Easy to put on. Best yet.
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Earbuds I bought them a month ago I love these earbuds, these are the first set I can keep in my ears.
Date published: 2024-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and sound great I'll admit, I was curious but skeptical about "open ear" earbuds. But Bose has NAILED IT with the Ultra Open Earbuds. These things are a revelation for anyone who wants high-quality audio without completely isolating themselves. Here's why I love them: The sound is mind-blowing: These aren't your tinny, bass-less open earbuds. Bose delivers surprisingly rich, full sound that feels like magic trickery. Vocals are clear, instruments have depth – it's way better than expected. Surroundings stay audible: This is the whole point. The open design lets me enjoy my tunes while still hearing traffic around me when I'm running. Comfy as heck: I forget these are even in my ears. Way lighter than in-ear buds, with a soft, flexible hook that doesn't irritate. If you want the best music experience while keeping your ears open to the world, I don't think there's a better option. Lit bit pricey? Yes, but worth every penny for me.
Date published: 2024-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mind is blown away. I forget they are in Immersive sound is great 👍
Date published: 2024-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfortable!! I have never had the chance to try an open ear earbud before and it was definitely an interesting experience. The fit of the Bose open earbuds is so light and so comfortable you almost forget they are there. The sound quality is good for this type of earbud. I love how easy it is to switch modes at the push of a button. I had no issues using these earbuds while running or doing other gym activities. Battery life was really good. I was able to stream podcasts, take calls and listen to music for a few days before needing to charge the case. You do have to make sure the contacts on the earbud are placed properly in the case. Otherwise one will charge and the other may not. My one con is the Bose App. I often find it very laggy when switching my devices and sometimes it doesn’t connect properly. I hope they provide updates on this soon. Other than that when it functions, having the ability to customize sound is great and the app is fairly user friendly. I definitely would recommend this type of bud if your looking for something with great sound that won’t fall out of your ear when your active. I do wish that along with the immersion it had the same capabilities as the other Bose Ultra line but it’s not a deal breaker these are pretty amazing!
Date published: 2024-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfortable I have never had the chance to try an open ear earbud before and it was definitely an interesting experience. The fit of the Bose open earbuds is so light and so comfortable you almost forget they are there. The sound quality is good for this type of earbud. I love how easy it is to switch modes at the push of a button. I had no issues using these earbuds while running or doing other gym activities. Battery life was really good. I was able to stream podcasts, take calls and listen to music for a few days before needing to charge the case. You do have to make sure the contacts on the earbud are placed properly in the case. Otherwise one will charge and the other may not. My one con is the Bose App. I often find it very laggy when switching my devices and sometimes it doesn’t connect properly. I hope they provide updates on this soon. Other than that when it functions, having the ability to customize sound is great and the app is fairly user friendly. I definitely would recommend this type of bud if your looking for something with great sound that won’t fall out of your ear when your active. I do wish that along with the immersion it had the same capabilities as the other Bose Ultra line but it’s not a deal breaker these are pretty amazing!
Date published: 2024-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very secure These are better than any other earbuds I have. Great sound and yet can still carry on a conversation without having to remove them
Date published: 2024-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Semper Fi I bought these earbuds 2 weeks ago via ID.me. I have been wanting to have a pair of earbuds to workout and playgolf. I pulled the trigger and so glad I did! This was an excellent purchase as they are comfortable, exceptional sound quality and a very long lasting battery. I love the design and technology features, they stay on no matter the workout situation. I practice at the range and go out an play a round and they stay on without adjusting around my ear. I would recommend these earbuds to anyone looking to find a great if not best earbuds in the current market!
Date published: 2024-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and Amazing Sound I LOVE these! The sound is amazing and they are so comfortable. I originally had Apple air pod pros that I was allergic to the metal. So these are perfect.
Date published: 2024-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great earbuds! I got these about two weeks ago and love them. They're great when you want full stereo sound and still be able to hear the surroundings, like walking out in the street or just sitting at the office. you can still hear someone call your name and also get the awesome quality sound that Bose is known for.
Date published: 2024-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sound is great I bought these about a month ago and I love them. I have very small ears and only buds that come over the ear will stay in until now. You don’t even realize you have anything on your ears. Hooks up easily to iPhone and the sound is awesome!
Date published: 2024-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Like it like that I love these! You can hear what’s happening around you and your music at the same time. They are lightweight and you almost forget you have them on. The sound is what I’ve come to expect from Bose.
Date published: 2024-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! love these earbuds! Only still getting used to the fact that it does not go into the ear cavity, it sits outside of it, but I'm blown away at the quality of sound it has! like I said, LOVE THEM!
Date published: 2024-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing sound quality Love these so far. I cannot use in-ear buds as they dont stay in. These are the only earbuds I've found that stay on my ear, lightweight and comfortable. I was shocked with the sound quality. Good battery life as I've used them about a dozen times and still full.
Date published: 2024-03-27
  • y_2024, m_4, d_16, h_3
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.41
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_336
  • loc_en_CA, sid_ULT-HEADPHONEOPN, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bose
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 18.2.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6ms
  • reviews, product